What is the Origin of Your DIS Screen Name?

HydroGuy

A Pirate's Life For Me
I remember an interesting thread on Tour Guide Mike's site a few years ago where forum members explained their screen name. I decided to start one here for fun. :)

So I will go first. I did not put a lot of thought into my screen name. Back in 2005 I was doing research for a DLR summer trip and was trying to find out when Space Mtn would re-open after a multi-year refurb in order to choose dates. (We ended up going August 1 about two weeks after SM re-opened.) I started on another Disney forum which has since folded. I think DIS was the fifth forum I joined and now is where I spend most of my forum time. :goodvibes

Anyways, I am a mechanical engineer and have worked the last 24 years in fluid dynamics and thermodynamics. The last 16 years I have worked in a small business that develops simulation software flor fluid flow. Off the cuff one day I wanted to stop lurking and so chose HydroGuy to kind of represent my fluid flow and hydrodynamics profession. I never realized I would use the moniker so much!

Since that time my small company has taken on both DLR and WDW as customers. Our software is used at DLR in compressed air supply and gained interest with them after the air/pneumatic braking accident on California Screamin' in 2005.

We have been working with WDW longer. They used our software the last couple years on the new Contemporary hotel expansion on the chilled water supply for the air conditioning system.

I am curious about the origin of many of your names including:

DLR29
DangerMouse (I think I know that one but maybe not)
LavendarPeach
BlackJackDelta
Hound 109
S.S. Columbia (why that and not something else? - and I remember you on TGM - "Liberty Belle"? - you have something for ships)

I have to say our excellent moderators could have chosen more creative names: ;)

Mary Jo
Sherry E
Judy from Boise

Hi, hydroguy,