Couch to Half Marathon in 16 weeks

mckay94

Earning My Ears
So my mother convinced me, a huge Disney fan, to run the half marathon during Disney's Marathon Weekend. So the half is on January 9th 2016, which is about 16 weeks from today. As of right now, I can run a minute, walk a minute and a half for about 1.75 miles before basically dying. I am currently doing the couch to 5k app, week 2. And I'm getting nervous
icon_disappointed.gif
. A little background about me. I am a 21 year old female whose 5ft tall and 140lbs, which is overweight for my height. I gained about 20 lbs when I entered college and really want to get that off but hopefully that will come with eating better and running.

Onto my question, do you think its possible for me to pull this off? I do not mind running/walking this half as long as I keep at least a 16 min mile which is the required pace. Also, do any of you recommend a certain plan to help get me through? Any help is greatly appreciated! I am a total newbie when it comes to running!

Congrats on making the jump. I'm sure you can do it. Just follow a good training program like one from Jeff Galloway.

Yes, it is possible to do. I agree follow a training plan, probably Galloway's since you are new to running and you could always modify with an extra run day in there if you feel like it after awhile. I have been running for years and it's never easy, but if you set your mind to it you can do anything. Some training days will be easier than others. Bad runs will happen, but don't let them bog you down, as it's all learning and in the long run helps you. Good luck! Try to work in a little core work/strength and will help you too, just little things make a difference!

Absolutely. Find a plan that works with your schedule and stick to it. And make sure to go to a running store to get fitted for a pair of running shoes. :)

i agree with everything mentioned above!!